Outstanding Fil-Cans recognized at the 3rd Golden Balangay Awards Night

Outstanding Fil-Cans recognized at the 3rd Golden Balangay Awards Night

Organizers, nominees and guests of the 3rd Golden Balangay Awards gathered last September 7 at the Winnipeg Art Gallery as Winnipeg hosted this year’s awards night. Friends from all over Canada came to witness the awarding of outstanding Fillipino- Canadian who have demonstrated excellence in their chosen fields and have made an impact to the Canadian society.

There are 19 award categories which is subdivided into individual and people’s choice brand categories. GBA aims to promote excellence, hard work, higher education, entrepreneurship, public service, positive relationships and community involvement.

It is held to celebrate our people, our culture and our achievements; and, honor the significant contributions of Filipino Canadians to the Canadian society.

The 2019 Golden Balangay Award is 6 months in the making – from kick off to nomination to judging and to finally awarding the most deserving in each category. And for this year, the Golden Balangay Awards go to:


Educator of the Year- Conley de Leon
Educational Excellence (Post Secondary Education)- Gerlino Dominic Tamayo

Arts, Culture and Sports:

Gluckstein Excellence Award in Arts and Culture- Ida and Constantino Lucila
Excellence Awards in Media- Lisa Svensson
Excellence Awards in Sports and Fitness- Kelly Legaspi
Excellence Awards in Music and Entertainment- Fernando Dalayoan

Community Service:

iKubo Media Young Leader of the Year- Lhori Webster
Most Influential Community Organization- Surrey Philippine Independence Day Society
World Vision Community Service Award- Michael Siervo
Senior Achievement Award- Rodolfo Cantiveros

Business and Career:

WFC Young Entrepreneur of the Year- Dominic Panganiban
Executive of the Year- Michael Siervo
Entrepreneur of the Year- Jamie Balmores
Business Excellence Award- Ellwood Daycare
Manggagawang Pilipino Award- Rhose Harris-Galia
Pinoy of the Year Award- Narima dela Cruz
Golden Balangay Lifetime Achievement Award- Dr. Rey Pagtakhan and Flor Marcelino
The awarding was followed by a gala dinner and fashion show by International Eco-Fashion Designer, John Ablaza whose creations definitely left the audience in amazement.

Part of the event was the ceremonial passing of the GBA sagwan to the next host ambassador, where 2019 GBA Host Ambassador, Judianne Jayme handed it to 2020 GBA Host Ambassador, Annie Chua – Frith. The province of Alberta is set to host the Golden Balangay Awards next year.

Golden Balangay Awards is a joint project of iKubo Media and Awards Online Canada.

Photos by Danny Roman, Jhayzon Paredes, Ron Cantiveros|Filipino Journal