Five achievers receive scholarship fund and two bursary awards at the UST AAMI 45th Anniversary celebration

The 2023 UST AAMI scholars with the officers, from left to right, Alda Sugayan Ruiz, chairperson; Keira P. Murray, Karol Gabrielle Panotes, Nathaniel Casiano, Juris Natividad, Miguel Lagayan, and Regina Valencia Santos, chairperson, scholarship selection committee.

Five Grade 12 graduates who garnered top academic grades were awarded financial scholarships and two UST alumni received bursary funds during the 45th Anniversary celebration of the University of Santo Tomas Alumni Association of Manitoba held last October 22 at Tommy Prince Place Senior Hall.

The five 2023 UST AAMI scholars include: Nathaniel Casiano, a graduate of Fort Richmond Collegiate and currently enrolled at the University of Manitoba College of Science and planning to pursue BioTech. Other awards include the Fort Richmond Silver Cup Award, the University of Waterloo Avogado Chemistry Contest Award, and his volunteer works are as follows: Big Brothers Big Sisters Mentoring Program, Sunday School Teacher- Mary Mother of the Church parish, and Winnipeg and Manitoba Harvest.

Keira P. Murray, Garden City Collegiate graduate and enrolled at the University of Winnipeg. She received the following, namely, Boeing Education, Robert Jolly Memorial, and U of W Scholarship awards. She volunteered as an assistant teacher at Maples Academy of Dance, and Royal Princess Ball and member of GCC WAGE Group and GSA. Her goal is to finish her Bachelor’s in English and pursue a master’s degree.

Karol Gabrielle Panotes, a graduate of Surgeon Heights Collegiate, is currently enrolled at the University of Winnipeg, College of Science. She was the class 2023 Valedictorian and received the following awards: St. James Optimist Club Gordon Chipman, St. James Assiniboia School Board, U of M Guertin Centennial Scholarship, and CUPE Local 744. She volunteered as Zoo Crew member, WFPS Half Marathon; and in some school events.

Miguel Lagayan graduated with honors from Surgepm Heights Collegiate and is currently enrolled at the U of M, taking up a Bachelor of Science in Engineering. Enrolled in the International Baccalaureate Program. He volunteered at Golden West Centennial Lodge at school programs. His goal is to work in a major technology company.

Juris Natividad graduated from Garden City Collegiate and enrolled at U of M Bachelor of Arts. An Honor student from grade 9 to 12. His volunteer works include Tutor, Academic Writing and Research Centre, Terry Fox, Manitoba Harvest, and Lunch Club. His goal is to take up law, majoring in International Law.

The two bursary recipients include Kristine Grace Hermosisima, a graduate of UST Bachelor of Science and Dietetic 2012, and now enrolled at U of M Bachelor of Science in Nursing; and Levy Yugioksing-Pablo graduated B.S. in Architecture at UST. Enrolled at RRC Drafting CAD to become an Architectural Technologist or an Architectural Draft person.

The 45th UST AAMI Anniversary celebration was led by Alda Sugayan Ruiz, chairperson. Attended by alumni members, parents, awardees, and guests. Invocation by Gee Carbonell, alternate secretary; Juan Paul Yadao, UST scholar, shared an inspiring message to the 2023 recipients. Emily Mae Panelo sang a song as an intermission. The closing remark was delivered by Mayumi Panelo, vice-chairperson.

Regina Valencia Santos, chairman of the scholarship committee and Alda Sugayan Ruiz, chairperson. presented the awards. Sheila Bumacod and Evhonel Comia, secretary and auditor respectively emceed the event.

The current officers of the UST AAMI are as follows: Alda Sugayan Ruiz, chairperson; Mayumi Panelo, vice-chairperson; Lanie Pasco, treasurer; Maridol Madolora, alternate treasurer; Sheila Bumacod, secretary; Gee Carbonell, alternate secretary; Evhonel Comia, auditor. Board members are Phil Anciro, Regina Santos, Prosy Kalas and Lauren Abano.

Scholarship committee: Regina Valencia Santos, chairperson; members include Archie Huypungco, Leah E. Magsino, Rod E. Cantiveros, Maridol Madolora, Mayumi Panelo, and Gee Carbonell. Dr. Mirla Daviid Faridy, adviser.

The Professional Accreditation Committee in charge of bursary grants is composed of Evhonel Comia, chairperson; Sheila Bumacod, Lanie Pasco, Lauren Abano, and Prosy Kalaw as members.

The UST Alumni Association of Manitoba Inc. was founded in the summer of 1978 when more than 50 UST Alumni joined together to help achievers in the Filipino community continue post-secondary education.

For more information about the UST AAMI Scholarship Program for 2024, please send an email to: