Seven UST Alumni Association scholars receive cash scholarship awards

Seven UST Alumni Association scholars receive cash scholarship awards

With the $6,000 scholar funds, the University of Santo Tomas Alumni Association of Manitoba awarded the scholarship cash awards to the seven scholars who have been selected for their excellence in academic and their total involvement in volunteerism while in the post secondary schools.

“We have developed a fair system to select the UST scholars, not only from their excellent academic achievements but also from their involvement in the field of volunteerism,” explained Regina Santos, former chairperson and currently the chairman of the UST scholarship committee, during the awarding ceremony held recently at Sturgeon Heights Community Centre.”This year’s applicants had given us the challenge to select the 2019 UST scholars and we are proud to present to you the seven outstanding students who are now pursuing their careers at the University of Manitoba and at the Canadian Mennonite University respectively,” Santos said.

“My dream is to work at NASA or the Canadian Space Agency to explore the outer space and perhaps be an astronaut someday,” said Andrei Joshua Loredo who is pursuing Aerospace Engineering at the University of Manitoba. “And to inspire my dream while studying aerospace, I became a member of the U of M Space Applications and Technology Society (UMSATS) to try and gain experience in the field.”

Upon knowing that Reyna Reyes, enrolled at the Canadian Mennonite University, pursuing business administration leading to a law degree, Johan Austin Ong said, “I will connect with you to be my corporate lawyer.” Ong is pursuing business administration to become an entrepreneur. Reyna Reyes responded: “Yes, a retainer fee will be okay.”

The seven UST scholarship awardees include: Johhan Austin Ong, a St. John High School graduate, was admitted at the University of Manitoba pursuing Bachelor of Commerce. His academic achievements include: Schroeder Bursary recipient; honor roll student in all four terms; and CEMC University of Waterloo 2019 Contest participant.Volunteer works include: cathechist at St. Joseph Parish, Rec and Read mentor, Special Physed class volunteer. His goal: to operate his own business and to become a successful entrepreneur and to give scholarships and bursaries to the student. Ong is the son Adrian and Myrna Ong.

Roland Anghelo T. Salacup: Maples Collegiate and enrolled at the U of M Faculty of Science where he is pursuing Science leading to medical studies. He is a consistent honor roll recipient and Euclid Mathematics Contest winner. Roland is involved with United Way community service, Siloam Mission, Rec and Read mentor, Teddy Bear’s Picnic and creator of program for the new comers. Roland, looking forward to be a pediatrician, is the son of Roland Paul and Edzel Salacup.

First UST scholar outside of Winnipeg, Nathaniel Gian Dizon graduated from Steinbach Regional Secondary School at Steinbach, Manitoba, with academic merit and academic award of excellence; a laureate and academic awards and distinction in humanities, applied Commerce,Math and Science. He is involved as altar server, youth and family life member in the community. Future goals: to pursue a degree in nursing and to continue his study to become a family physician or surgeon. Dizon is the son of Adrian and Annie Dizon of Steinbach.

Graduated with high honor at College Jeanne-Suave’, Reyna Reyes was admitted by the Canadian Mennonite University pursuing business administration. Her academic achievements include: Victor & Marie Wyatt Award, Support Our Troops Award, Inclusiveness Award, highest grade in Band and Prix du Directeur awards in Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12. She is a coach volunteer with Winnipeg Team Mayhem Basketball Club. Daughter of MLA Jon Reyes and Cynthia Reyes, Reyna wants to complete her business degree leading to become a lawyer.

Reyna who wants to complete her business administration degree leading to become a lawyer is the daughter of MLA Jon Reyes and Cynthia.

His dream job is to gain employment in some space or aircraft agencies like Boeing, Space X, Canadian Space Agency, Magellan and NASA, Andrie Joshua Loredo is enrolled at the U of M pursuing engineering for he wants to be an Aerospace engineer. His academic achievements include: consistent honor student, UM Guerin Centennial Entrance Scholarship recipient; and academic excellence award in the International Baccalaureate program. He is a volunteer at Monarch Butterfly Festival, Winnipeg Pet Shelter and a volunteer tutor for Chemistry and Math. He also received Moe Kowalson Optimist Club of Assiniboia Volunter Award. Andrei is the son of Allan and Lynette Loredo.

Vianca Gamboa is a graduate from St. Maurice School and admitted at the U of M, pursuing commerce degree in actuarial science and have set a goal to work as an actuary in an insurance company.. Academic achievements include: Achievement Awards in Physics, Pre-Cal, Accounting, AP Calculus and Economics and she is a consistent honor students. She volunteered at Winnipeg Harvest, Annual Taekwondo Invitational Tournament, and MB Hydro Children’s Christmas Party. Vianca is the daughter of Gody and Pinky Gamboa, a UST graduate.

A graduate at the Maples Collegiate Institute, Maxine Anne M. Restar is enrolled at the U of M College of Science. Being a consistent honor student, Maxine received UM Entrance scholarship, Hogg Centennial Entrance scholarship, Maples Collegiate Scholarship committee, Institute of Chinese Language, Culture and Arts award; best Student Award.

Volunteer works include, St. Anne Church, Tutor: Wayfinders Student Service Learning, CIBC Run For Cure. Maxine wants to be a pediatric dentist.

Carlyle Angelo Foja, a former UST scholar, gave inspirational speech to the scholars.

Scholarship Committee is chaired by Reggie Santos; members include Phil Anciro, Rod Cantiveros, Maridol Madolora, Archie Huypungco, Aida Ruiz, Leah Magsino, Mirla David, adviser.

UST Alumni Association of Manitoba’s board of directors and officers: Girald Carbonell, chairman; Phil Anciro, vice-chairman; Lanie Pasco, treasurer; Mayumi Vicente, asst. trea.;Evhonel Comia, secretary; Reggie Santos, auditor; Byron Yadao, Maridol Madolora, Nena Huypungco, Procy Kalaw, Lauren Abano and Shiela Bumacod, directors.

The $6,000 scholarship fund was the interest from the principal capital being managed by the Winnipeg Foundation.Tax receipts will be issued for donations of $10 above. For more information, please contact any members of the Board of Directors. To make a donation please go to Winnipeg Foundation website and search for Filipino Heritage Scholarship /Bursary Fund.

Closing remarks by Mayumi Vicente and emceed by Lanie Pasco and Evhonel Comia.

Photos by Rod Cantiveros | Filipino Journal