Redstar claims IKAW Championship in Overtime

Redstar claims IKAW Championship in Overtime

Redstar won the IKAW Open Division A championship on a high arc 3-pointer with 0.4sec left in overtime against Loralee in a tight hardcourt battle. Final score 71-70.

Down by 3points with 11.1 seconds left in the 4th quarter, Loralee knocked in three free throws to tie the game at 66-66 in regulation to force overtime.

Open Division A Champions: Redstar; MVP – Jonar Huertas; 2nd Place – Loralee; 3rd Place – Pimp My Rice.

Open Division B Champions: Mekenisons; MVP – Dennis Ochoa; 2nd Place – Redstar 2; 3rd Place – Knights.

39 & Above Champions: Jojo Villanueva’s Team; MVP – Bong Salon; 2nd Place – Land Mhel Elago; 3rd Place: Guimba Blackjack.

49 & Above Champions: Blackjack Guimbanians. MVP – Dondy Lagunay.

Special thanks goes out to all volunteers and executive members; namely Dondy Lagunay, Bhoy Gali, Larry Guiterrez, Elmer Tolentino, Jojo Cerdon, Obet Quirante, Bong Rafael & Boyet Carungcong. IKAW trusted marketing executives are Phil Jularbal, Rod Domingo, Sonny Cestina & Buddy Raquid. The organizers also with to thank all sponsors, Councillor Harvey Smith, Councillor Mike Pagtakhan, Councillor Scott Fielding, Counciller Mayes, Councillor Swandel, Councillor Vandal, Romy Ominga, Weston Travel, Greenhills Realty, Jerry Garcia, Don Woodstock, Eric Orbeta, Emerald Palace, MP Kevin Lamoureux, everyone who supported our IKAW fundraising event, Valour Convenience Store, Chapel Lawn Memorial Garden & IKAW members and committee.

Special thanks to all Filipino newspapers in Winnipeg for their continued support and to all participants.

The 2014 recipient of Mr. Willy Olaes Memorial Award goes to Mr. Bhoy Gali

For more details please contact IKAW Commissioner Jerry Medina @ (204)795-1792 or visit us on Facebook – Ikaw Winnipeg or; Jerry Medina –; Rizza Valera – ;John Medina – and Ferds Dayrit – For those who want to join NABA Winnipeg in Chicago this September long weekend,;contact Rizza, John or Jerry.

Photos by Anthony Lapuz and Ron Cantiveros