Pinoy students excel in international math, science tilt

Pinoy students excel in international math, science tilt

The 8th International Mathematics and Science Olympiad (IMSO) for primary schools held from September 2 to 6 in Naga City saw students from the Philippines and Singapore declared as champions.

Farrell Eldrian Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy in Taguig and Raphael Villaluz of San Beda College-Alabang in Muntinlupa, both twelve years old, were declared Theory champion in math and Experiment champion in science, respectively.

Dylan Toh Shan Hong of Singapore emerged overall champion in Math while fellow Singaporean Shane Tan bagged the overall champion award in science. On the other hand, Choi Jong Yoon of South Korea won as Exploration champion in math, while Ferris Prima Nugraha of Indonesia was Theory champion in science.

Overall, Thailand won 6 gold, 13 silver, and 4 bronze medals, while the Philippines got 6 gold, 12 silver and 38 bronze medals, said Dr. Simon Chua, chief organizer and president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG).

The rest of the rankings were Singapore, Indonesia, China, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, South Africa, South Korea, Malaysia, and India.

The gold medalists for the Philippines in math are Farrell Eldrian Wu, Sedrick Scott Keh of Xavier University, Clyde Wesley Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College, and Errol John Suarez of Bicol University in Legazpi City. Filipino gold medalists in science are Raphael Villaluz and Christian Philip Gelera of UP Integrated School.

The 8th IMSO was organized by Naga City and the MTG in cooperation with the DoST’s Science Education Institute (DoST-SEI) and the Department of Education (DepEd).