Those Guys Celebrates Five Years with Premiere at RMTC

Those Guys Celebrates Five Years with Premiere at RMTC

They’ve hit the five-year milestone and Winnipeg’s most versatile all-male a cappella group is celebrating with its biggest show yet! On Tuesday, May 20, 2014, Those Guys will perform for the first time at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre with special guest, Renee Lamoureux.

Made up of eight performers who represent a cross-section of the Winnipeg music and theatre community, Those Guys have built a reputation for dynamic, feel-good performances since 2009. Their repertoire, which ranges from The Nylons to Justin Timberlake, features complex (often original) musical arrangements performed without a single instrument.

“Every year, we push ourselves to do something new and challenging,” says Bernie Pastorin, the group’s artistic director and founder. “This show meets that challenge, packed with new music and choreography you can’t help but sing and dance along to. If you’re looking for a fun night out with the whole family, you won’t want to miss it.”

Over five years, Those Guys have performed in venues throughout Winnipeg and toured across Manitoba and Alberta. They have become a staple at corporate functions, helping to open the Richardson International Airport and entertaining the likes of Virgin music mogul Richard Branson. But they also prioritize using their talents to support local charities and non-profits. “We all love Winnipeg so much,” says Pastorin. “We are committed to giving back as much as we’ve received from this amazing community.” Most recently, Those Guys participated in (SHOW), the tsunami relief fundraiser for The Philippines.

That Show with Those Guys: Fifth Time’s the Charm happens May 20 at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, 174 Market Ave. Doors open at 7:00 p.m. and the performance begins at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $20 and available online Tickets are also available at Winnipeg retail locations McNally Robinson Booksellers, Into the Music and Music Trader.

Those Guys are: Dexter Barcellano (baritone), Matt Baron (vocal percussion), Ben Campbell (baritone), James Campbell (bass), Mike Engstrom (tenor), Derek Leenhouts (baritone), Simon Miron (baritone/bass), and Bernie Pastorin (tenor). In 2012, Those Guys released their first studio recording, That Album, and are currently working on their sophomore offering, this time featuring some original songs.