UST Alumni Association of Manitoba celebrates 40 years of community service

UST Alumni Association of Manitoba celebrates 40 years of community service

The University of Santo Tomas Alumni Association of Manitoba held its 40th anniversary at the Holiday Inn, Ellice, highlighting the annual awarding of scholarship for the students who are taking up post secondary education and the recognition award for two alumni members who have been serving the association for many years.

The 2018 UST AAMI scholars include Guezz Lois Quizon, Ralph Paguio, Joseph Geodisico, Kristiana Senangelo, Arlna Vianella Radovan, Caitlyn Joy Garcia and Rainne Delos Santos; Special awardees, Stephanie Decena and Sam Austin Generoso

Two outstanding alumni awardees include Dr. Roland Guzman, Medicine 1955, married to Dr. Irene Guzman, a UST alumna, with two children, Ronnie Guzman and Randy Guzman, a vascular surgeon. Dr Guzman as the Honorary Consul General of the Philippines for 21 years, and a well-known Filipino pioneer who settled in Winnipeg in 1959, And he led the establishment of the Philippine Canadian Centre of Manitoba. He was the acting head and deputy head of the St. Boniface General Hospital ,Department of Pathology. Founded the Philippine Heritage Committee and the Knights of Rizal, he is one of the recipients of the Queen’s Golden Jubilee.

Dr. Merla David, Medicine 1958, moved to Winnipeg in 1965 and the first allergist certified by the American Board of Allergy and considered as the first lady doctor member of the Winnipeg Clinic. Dr. David, one of the founding members of the scholarship awards and responsible to increase the USTAAMI scholarship funds at St. Paul College Foundation and then, the Filipino Heritage Scholarship/Bursary Fund at the Winnipeg Foundation. Dr. David is a proud mother and grandma and married to Dr. Ed Faridy who is also active in the association.

The anniversary celebration was graced by Neneth Banas, Community Grant Assistance, Winnipeg Foundation.

The 2018 USTAAMI officers and board of directors include Girard Carbonnel, chairman; Phil Anciro, vice-chairman; Maridel Carmen Reyes, secretary; Lanie Pasco, treasurer; Mayumi Panilo, alternate treasurer; Regina Santos, Audtor; board members, Byron Yadao, Lauren Abano, Nena Huypungco, Evhonel Comia, and Shiela Bumacod. Leah Magsino, adviser. UST Alumni scholarship Committee includes Regina Santos, chairperson; Leah Magsino, Aida Ruiz, Archie Huypungco, Phil Anciro, Maridol Madolora, Rod Escobar Cantiveros, members; Dr. Mirla David, adviser.

Guezz Lois Quizon, 2018 USTAAMI scholar delivered an appreciation speech, Rod Escobar Cantiveros,one of the living founders of the USTAAMI, added historical perspective about the alumni association, Phil Anciro gave the closing remarks. Regina Santos, Girard Carbonell, Neneth Banas of Winnipeg Foundation, handed the awards of the UST scholars while Girard Carbonell and Mayumi Panilo handed in the outstanding alumni awards. Shiela Anne Bumacod and Byron Yadao, emcees. Dancing followed.

Photos by Mark Godilano